ChatGPT Pro

ChatGPT Pro comes in three tiers as of Nov 6, 2026, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 at $100, $200 and $500 a month, each with GPT-6 Pro reasoning, Dots, Space, no five-hour limit in Work and Codex, and API credits equal to the price.

ChatGPT Pro is ChatGPT's top personal plan, sold in three tiers as of Nov 6, 2026: Pro 100 at $100 a month, Pro 200 at $200 and Pro 500 at $500. All three include the Pro reasoning option in Chat (GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra), Dots, ChatGPT Space, no five-hour limit in ChatGPT Work and Codex, and monthly API credits equal to the plan's price. The tiers differ in how much Work and Codex use is included, and only Pro 500 has Ultrafast mode. Pro started on Dec 5, 2024 as a single $200 plan.

Quick facts

Price $100, $200 or $500 a month in the US, as of Nov 6, 2026
Billing Monthly only; no annual plan
Chat models GPT-6 Sol at every level to Extra High, plus GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro
Work and Codex No five-hour limit; weekly limits may apply
Ultrafast Pro 500 only
API credits $100, $200 or $500 a month by tier
Context window 128K tokens Instant, 400K with reasoning
Library storage 100 GB
Launched Dec 5, 2024 at $200 a month

Pro 100 vs Pro 200 vs Pro 500

OpenAI's help article on the tiers says "Pro 200 includes more usage than Pro 100. Pro 500 offers the highest included usage of the three plans" (About ChatGPT Pro tiers). It publishes no message counts for any tier. What it and the other help pages do state, as of Nov 6, 2026:

Pro 100 Pro 200 Pro 500
Price $100 a month $200 a month $500 a month
Work and Codex allowance Doubled on Oct 29, 2026 More than Pro 100 The highest
Ultrafast mode No No Yes
GPT-6 Pro in Chat Weekly allowance, shared with GPT-5.6 Sol Pro Weekly allowance, then GPT-5.6 Thinking at Medium Not named in the models article
Voice (GPT-Live-1.1) 15 hours a day Unlimited Not listed
Monthly API credits $100 $200 $500

Sources: About ChatGPT Pro tiers, GPT-6 and other models in ChatGPT, ChatGPT Voice, API credits benefit, all read Nov 6, 2026.

Pro 500 is missing from the voice table and from the sentence naming the plans with GPT-6 Pro, though the pricing page promises "Pro reasoning powered by GPT-6 Astra" on every Pro tier (chatgpt.com/pricing). Whether Pro 500 gets unlimited voice is not stated.

What does ChatGPT Pro include?

The Pro card on chatgpt.com/pricing, read Nov 6, 2026, lists everything in Plus and: a choice of three usage tiers, Pro reasoning powered by GPT-6 Astra, longer Codex and ChatGPT Work sessions, "Dot, your always-on agent", "Unlimited and faster image creation", maximum deep research, maximum memory and context, expanded projects, tasks and custom GPTs, research previews of new features, and monthly API credits. Its footnote: "Unlimited subject to abuse guardrails."

  • Models. In Chat, Pro gets every GPT-6 Sol thinking level (Instant, Medium, High, Extra High) and the Pro option, which uses GPT-6 Pro on eligible plans and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro (models article). Since Oct 16, 2026, GPT-6 Pro in Chat can run several agents in parallel (release notes). In Work and Codex, Pro 100 and Pro 200 can spend their whole allowance on GPT-6 Astra (ChatGPT Work and Codex).
  • Dots. Always-on agents powered by GPT-6 Astra, launched Sep 29, 2026 for eligible Pro users aged 18 or over, at first outside the EEA, Switzerland and the UK. Since Oct 28, 2026 US Pro users can text their dot by iMessage or RCS in a beta (release notes).
  • ChatGPT Space. Replaces Library for accounts that have it (Library help), with ChatGPT Slides inside it since Oct 16, 2026.
  • Bigger allowances. A 128K token Instant context window and 400K with reasoning (chatgpt.com/pricing), 100 GB of storage, 40 files and 100 collaborators per project (Projects), and 15 active scheduled tasks (Tasks).
  • Pro-first features. Personal finances reached US Pro users first on May 15, 2026, and Computer History for macOS on Aug 13, 2026 (release notes).

Pro and Codex

Pro is the plan OpenAI builds for heavy Codex use. "Pro currently has no five-hour limit" in Work and Codex, though weekly limits may apply (learn.chatgpt.com). Fast mode spends the allowance 2.5 times as fast. Ultrafast, on Pro 500 only, runs GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol much faster and spends the included allowance "at 8x the Standard rate", then credits at 6 times the Standard credit rate. Buying credits on Pro 100 or Pro 200 does not unlock Ultrafast. Codex Pricing and Limits goes into the numbers.

API credits with Pro

Each Pro tier earns API credits for the OpenAI API every monthly billing period: $100 on Pro 100, $200 on Pro 200, $500 on Pro 500 (API credits benefit). The subscription must have been active for at least 7 days, the first grant is prorated, credits go to one linked API organization, and unused credits expire at the end of the cycle. They do not raise your ChatGPT or Codex limits, and they do not pay for Codex used with an API key. A full refund removes unused credits tied to the refunded charge.

Is Pro unlimited?

No. "A Pro subscription does not include unlimited use of the GPT-6 Pro model" (models article): every tier has a weekly GPT-6 Pro allowance, and on Pro 200 ChatGPT switches to GPT-5.6 Thinking at Medium when you reach it. Features the pricing page calls unlimited are "subject to abuse guardrails", and OpenAI forbids sharing credentials, reselling access and automated extraction (About ChatGPT Pro tiers). Support cannot reset limits; credits extend Codex, Work and the Office extensions when you run out.

History of ChatGPT Pro

Date Change
Dec 5, 2024 Pro launches at $200 a month with unlimited OpenAI o1, o1-mini, GPT-4o and Advanced Voice, and o1 pro mode
Apr 9, 2026 A $100 Pro plan arrives for "longer, high-intensity Codex sessions", with up to 10 times Plus's Codex usage for a limited time
Sep 29, 2026 Pro 500 launches at $500 with Astra Ultrafast; Pro 200 opens to new subscribers again; Dots arrive
Oct 28, 2026 API credits for eligible Pro plans (release notes)
Oct 29, 2026 Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance; a cut to Pro 200 announced on Sep 29 is canceled, and Pro 200's lower allowance doubles instead

When Pro 200 had stopped taking new subscribers before Sep 29, 2026 is not stated in the release notes. The Jul 9, 2026 release notes also name a "Pro Lite" plan among the first to get ChatGPT Work; no other OpenAI page read on Nov 6, 2026 describes it, and the pricing page does not list it.

How to switch tiers or cancel

Change between Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 at Settings > My Plan (About ChatGPT Pro tiers). Pro 500 was web only at launch. Cancel where you bought: ChatGPT, Apple or Google Play. "Canceling stops future renewals", you normally keep Pro to the end of the period, and a scheduled cancellation can be undone before then. Canceling does not refund earlier charges: for chatgpt.com and Google Play purchases contact OpenAI Support, for App Store purchases ask Apple. How to Cancel ChatGPT Plus walks through the steps, which are the same for Pro.

Who should buy Pro?

Pro 100 is for people who run out of Plus's Work and Codex allowance most days, or want GPT-6 Pro for hard reasoning in Chat, and can use the $100 in API credits. Pro 200 suits those who still run out on Pro 100 or want unlimited voice. Pro 500 is for the heaviest Codex users who want Ultrafast. For most other users ChatGPT Plus is enough. ChatGPT Plus vs Pro goes through the choice by kind of user.

Frequently asked questions

How much is ChatGPT Pro? As of Nov 6, 2026, Pro has three tiers in the US: Pro 100 at $100 a month, Pro 200 at $200 and Pro 500 at $500, all billed monthly.

What is the difference between Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500? Mostly how much ChatGPT Work and Codex use is included, rising with the price, and the API credits ($100, $200 or $500). Only Pro 500 has Ultrafast mode, and Pro 200 has unlimited voice where Pro 100 has 15 hours a day.

Is ChatGPT Pro unlimited? No. GPT-6 Pro has a weekly allowance on every tier, Work and Codex may have weekly limits, and "unlimited" features are subject to abuse guardrails.

Does ChatGPT Pro include GPT-6 Astra? Yes. The Pro reasoning option in Chat uses GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra, and Pro 100 and Pro 200 can use their full Work and Codex allowance on Astra.

Does ChatGPT Pro come with API credits? Yes, as of Nov 6, 2026: $100, $200 or $500 a month by tier, for one linked API organization, expiring at the end of each billing cycle.

Can I pay for ChatGPT Pro yearly? No. "Pro is billed monthly," and paying for several months in advance is not available.

Sources

Moments

Build faster with Ultrafast

OpenAI

  1. Pro is the plan OpenAI builds for heavy Codex use. "Pro currently has no five-hour limit" in Work and Codex, though…

API credits, now in ChatGPT Pro and Business plans

OpenAI

  1. Each Pro tier earns API credits for the OpenAI API every monthly billing period: $100 on Pro 100, $200 on Pro 200…

See also

About this page

Last updated Nov 6, 2026 by the Vi.ki team. Page text CC BY-SA 4.0.

Edit History

Hotkeys

/
Jump to the search box
? or Ctrl + /
Open this list
Esc
Close this list, the photo viewer, or the account menu

Video

Space or K
Play or pause
← →
Back or forward 5 seconds
J L
Back or forward 10 seconds
0 to 9
Go to 0% to 90% of the video
, .
Previous or next frame, while paused
M
Mute or unmute
C
Captions on or off
F
Full screen on or off
A D
Previous or next moment

Photo viewer

← → or A D
Previous or next photo
↑ ↓ or W S
Previous or next photo
Home End
First or last photo
I
Show or hide the photo's info
Z
Clickless on or off: a pointer over a thumbnail shows it
N
Compare with the last photo: back to the one shown before this, and N again comes back
Q
Move the thumbnails to the next edge: top, bottom, left and round
, or Ctrl + ,
Open or close the viewer's settings
V
Clickless pan: a zoomed photo follows the pointer, rather than being dragged
Shift
Browse on or off
B
Show or hide the button bar
T
Show or hide the thumbnails
1
100% zoom on or off
0
Rate the photo as no opinion; again takes the answer back
+ -
Rate the photo a step higher or lower
F
Full screen: the photo alone. F again puts everything back.
Back to top